sundays

It’s about time I posted some random horse shots again, right? There’s a new boy at the barn and he’s gorgeous.

Sometimes the sunday I spend at the barn, in the arena or going for a relaxing trail ride, is the best part of my week. Definitely this week.

I don’t like to be negative in this space, but the truth is, I’m plain exhausted this week. There’s some family troubles right now (or still I guess), coming at us from different directions. Some days I think it’s going to be ok but often it just feels as though we’re all falling apart at the seams.
I’ve always been proud to say that I’m a person people can rely on, that if someone asked for help, I’d be there. Now I find myself drawing back, trying to proctect my emotional balance, fragile as it is anyway, to be able to keep on going. I guess there’s a fine line between self-protection and egoism and I can’t see it.

Anyway, that was just waiting to get out. We do have a lot to be grateful for and one thing I am intensely grateful for is some down time at the barn and a pony who makes me laugh, trying to catch waterdrops landing on his nose wile he’s being brushed.

9 thoughts on “sundays

  1. gingermakes

    Great pictures! I love them!

    I hope things settle down soon. Sometimes withdrawing and recharging is the best thing you can do– it’s not about being selfish or self-centered, it’s just that you can’t love people to the best of your ability if you’re emotionally (or physically) exhausted. So really, you do others a favor when you take the time to take care of yourself!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Kristina

      Ginger, thank you so much, your comment really meant a lot to me! You’re right of course…I guess we all need a little reminding once in a while.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Victoria Bennett Beyer

    Ginger is right! No matter how much we want to be strong and to be there for other people, we can’t be that person every second of every day. Remember to be kind to yourself, too. I hope things look up again soon.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Kristina

      Thanks Victoria, I’ll try πŸ™‚ I do hope things look up again soon as well. I guess what’s so exhausting about it is that it changes every couple of days right now and of course there are good things happening and then something bad again…2012 has been quite the rollercoaster so far and I’m not so fond of those anyway πŸ˜‰

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment