sewing a knit dress – colette moneta

Hm, so that definitely wasn’t the plan to be away from this space for weeks on end! I’ve started a post on why I stayed away from all my internet spaces but it’s quite personal and I’m not sure I’m ready to share it yet. So let’s just say for now I’m back and I’ve been spending some quality time with my sewing machine and serger!

I’ve wanted to try my hand at a nice knit dress for a while and the Colette Moneta Dress seemed a perfect candidate.

colette moneta dress. little home by hand blogI’ve had little success with earlier Colette patterns but whoa – the Moneta blew me away! I made size XS and the fit is nearly perfect. The striped jersey fabric was from my stash and I was happy to finally find the right pattern for it.

Sewing with knits is in many ways so simple – just serge together and done. IF the serger thread doesn’t break. Then there will be sweat and tears. I will also not talk about how I redid the elastic waist part four times because I was sure I could outsmart the description on how to do it (I couldn’t). Turns out ripping out overlock stitching is much less fun than ripping out straight stitch…

colette moneta dress. little home by hand blog Much as I have come to love sewing with knits there is always the minor issue of hemming. My treadle sewing machine does only straight stitch and I can’t use a twin needle with it either. Yes I tried and yes, it broke – there goes an expensive twin needle. Oh well. I suspect I could use it with a different stitch plate but chances on finding one for an 85 year old machine are pretty slim.

Contrary to what the books say you can actually sew a straight stitch on a knit fabric as long as it’s not a part that stretches continually when wearing the garment (then the thread will likely break). So, I hem knits by serging and then using straight stitch. I’m counting on the fact that very few people I meet know how to sew and nobody will notice that I’m doing it wrong.

colette moneta dress. little home by hand blogI think I’ve found the perfect dress for me in the Moneta pattern. I have since made another in a solid color (to be blogged soon) and have received so many compliments when I wear either of these dresses. They are just incredibly flattering for my body shape, showing off waist and curves and managing to make me feel both comfortable and elegant in them. I forsee many similar dresses in my wardrobe soon!

Sewing with knits, straight stitches and all – what are your thoughts?

 

 

26 thoughts on “sewing a knit dress – colette moneta

  1. Hila

    You look gorgeous! Isnt the Mineta such an easy wonderful pattern , i am a big fan !When I use knits I use a twin needle, I upgraded my machine and got one with twin needle so I could do knits and its been worth it. They really do look much neater .

    Like

    Reply
    1. Kristina Post author

      Aw, thanks, Hila! It is one of my favorite patterns to date, love it! I don’t think I’m ready to upgrade my machine, I love my treadle so much. I do have two other machines in storage, I might try the twin needle out on them!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Erika

    I think it is a very flattering dress, and it suits you well. I have seen a lot of these Moneta’s online and on Instagram lately. I really like the style and I happen to have a similar pattern that I would love to try and make myself. As far as knits go, I have always hemmed by serging first and then straight stitching afterwards. I was ignorant and never even knew that I was doing it wrong, but like you said, I doubt anyone I ran into realized my mistake in this. πŸ™‚ I have a twin needle that I am just dying to try out. Making a dress like this would be a perfect excuse. You look lovely!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Martha

    What a lovely dress and it fits you perfectly. I’ve been wanting to sew with knits for the longest time. Thank you for the tips I’m sure they will come handy when I finally work with knits.
    So nice to have you back blogging.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Chloe

    You know, if it works, I don’t think it can be wrong :), that’s one of the joys of sewing! I struggle with my twin needle hems, and have yet to find the perfect tension, so the straight stitch comes in handy.

    Like

    Reply
  5. beebeesvintagedress

    Beautiful Moneta! I like your styling of it too! Its in my stash and I have 101 knits ready for it. I feel for you about the overlocker/serger woes mine keeps unthreading!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Kristina Post author

      Have fun making it!! Oh yes, my serger usually works fine but whenever a thread does break it’s very bad! I usually fiddle at it forever, then let the boyfriend take over. He has more patience with machines than I do πŸ˜€

      Like

      Reply
  6. Katha

    I love it, I want it! This dress suits you very much, and I would never have guessed that it is handmade! I would love to be able to use a sewing machine but I get frustrated to easily so I haven’t dared to get near ours in .. a long while, let’s leave it at that. What is this Moneta and where do I get it (in case it is something one can get)?

    Like

    Reply
  7. Inge

    This is a lovely dress! I really like that pattern, but I don’t sew with knits because I don’t have a serger and (apart from this dress!) don’t feel the need to own one. But this dress! I love it.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Kristina Post author

      Thank you :)) I think you could sew this without a serger, Inge. If you get a stretchy stitch that works with your fabric well enough, you could just sew it up normally, you wouldn’t even need to finish the edges.

      Like

      Reply
  8. LEAs Heart ART

    Yay πŸ™‚ cool! I did the Moneta dress too πŸ™‚ It’s so versatile. Love your version – it’s possible to wear in the office or on a casual friday. My version is “two-faced” haha no I used 2 different materials and colours. That’s why it looks like as a skirt and shirt thing and not a dress πŸ˜‰ but this doesnt’ matter, right?! Happy sewing! πŸ™‚ Greetings from Switzerland πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  9. Pingback: pea green – colette moneta #2 | little home by hand

  10. Jo

    Wow finally someone else with my issue! – my machine is an old Singer that also only does straight stitch, and I have an overlocker, so I do hems etc the same way as you! I agree it’s mainly fine as long as there’s not too much stress on that area. I also pull the fabric slightly as I’m sewing, then it has a bit more give when it goes back to shape – another thing you’re not meant to do but mostly works for me. Great dress by the way!

    Like

    Reply
  11. abigailthelibrarian

    Hi! I love your style and these dresses look so cute on you! I was looking for a dress pattern similar to a dress I own from Boden and this is the closest thing I’ve found. My dress doesn’t have elastic though and I’d prefer to leave off it off (the less restrictions on the waist the better). Is the elastic necessary?
    Thanks!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment