loving film part 2 – black and white

In between all those colourful, bright digital shots I just have to throw in these black and white photos from my Olympus OM-2N. Not only because they are different but because I am thrilled by how they turned out. It was love at second sight I’ll admit but I am starting to see the huge potential of this small and amazing SLR.


Not to mention that I just get a thrill out of using it…pressing that shutter and especially advancing the film manually is pure joy for me…I’m weird like that😉


I am pretty suprised at just how contrasty and grainy this 125 ASA film turned out. I shot black and white film with a point and shoot as a teenager and don’t remember them turning out so ‘retro’. But then again I wasn’t using a 30-year old manual SLR so maybe that’s the difference.


I will definitely take the time to get to know this camera better though the prices to develop film are really steep and I’ll have to restrain myself from taking too many pictures.
Don’t worry about the digital photos though, I’ll keep them coming😉 I have three photoshoots with adorable kids scheduled in the next 2-3 weeks, starting this weekend with 4 toddlers under the age of three!

12 thoughts on “loving film part 2 – black and white

  1. tidytipsy

    Thanks Sarah and Kathryn. I am somehow always drawn to black and white, though I am normally a very colour oriented person. You’re right, it does have a special charme of its own!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Jusni

    I was brought here from your Flickr stream and you have a very good blog here. The OM2n is a great camera of choice. You mentioned about the steep price which I could not quite agree with with film developing. I used mainly expired films costing about USD1 per roll and if developed at home, Ill need another 30 cents for the chemical. If I send the roll to the lab for developing and negative scanning, they’ll charge me USD2. I don’t shoot wildly like DSLRs as every shot is permanent and no delete button on the disposable CMOS sensor🙂

    All in all, I’ve been paying less than USD4 per roll including the film and I guess the price is pretty reasonable. Both of my DSLRs are sitting in the drybox most of the time and only out for important events.

    Good luck and best regards.

    Like

    Reply
    1. tidytipsy

      Hi, thanks so much for your comment!
      That is incredible how little it costs you to get film developed and scanned at the lab!! I haven’t developed at home yet, because I have non of the supplies (my dad used to have a complete set-up, but sold it like 20 years ago) and I am a little intimidated by the process to be honest.
      I definitely shoot a lot more carefully with film than digital as well, it’s really a completely different experience in photography for me!
      I’m in Germany and just to give you an idea, I paid 21€ (about $30 USD I’d guess) for the 21 black and white images from that first roll and the film itself was maybe another 5 or 6€…I’ve been asking around in labs but it seems a normal price here :((
      Also I scan myself (the positives) because you wouldn’t believe what they charge for high-quality negative scans here…
      By the way, you have a seriously impressive collection of cameras on your site, wow!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Jusni

    Hi,
    For the price that you have quoted there, I would not be able to afford it. Over here, the whole process of purchasing the film, developed and scanned in a CD might be about 3 Euro for color negatives.
    Very good work though and all the best with the home brew. It can be fun!
    Regards.

    Like

    Reply
    1. tidytipsy

      Thank you🙂
      I know, it’s crazy expensive! I’ll definitely try delevoping at home as soon as I get the tools, first with normal chemicals and then with the caffenol!
      The only thing is, to make it worth while I need to get a scanner to scan the negatives, because they charge about 1€ per photo to scan in a shop (4€ for a medium format photo)…gaah!
      Do you scan yourself? What scanner do you use?

      Like

      Reply
  4. Jusni

    I do scan at home with my cheap Epson V300 but the lab charge me 1€ per roll of 135/120/220 (inclusive of the CD) so I ended up getting it done by the lab most of the time. You can check the EXIF data of the lab scanner in my Flickr photostream.

    Have a nice day!

    Like

    Reply
    1. tidytipsy

      Thanks! You’re in Malaysia right? I think I’ll move to Malaysia, your prices over there are making me cry😉
      The V300 only takes 135er negatives right?
      I was looking into getting a Holga just for the fun of it, so I’ll need a scanner that takes 120er film as well:/

      Like

      Reply
  5. Jusni

    You are right about V300. I have rolls shot with my Yashica MAT and Mamiya RB67 that has yet to be scanned and only a few labs does 120.
    Yes, I am in Malaysia and welcome to stay – but it is so humid, I doubt that you would last long here🙂

    Have a nice day!

    Like

    Reply
    1. tidytipsy

      Oh, that’s true, I definitely wouldn’t last long in that extreme humidity, I prefer fresh and cool weather (I should go live somewhere in Scandinavia I guess)🙂
      I’ve done some research and I think what I’ll do is that I’ll develop the film at home and then get them printed in a lab (which is really cheap for 135 and for the 120 still within my budget with 2€ for a 5×5″ photo). Then I’ll scan the positives with my dad’s scanner so I can show them online.
      That’s the cheapest option for me and when I get a job and earn some money I can save up for a good scanner🙂
      Thanks so much for helping me out, hope you have a nice day yourself!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

