breaking it in

My brand new sewing area that is. So much space!

A couple of pillow covers and pillow cases are still waiting to be made at the weekend.

During the week there’s not a chance of getting anything done. I leave the house when it’s still dark and I come home when it has been dark again for quite some time. So I usually just fall asleep on the couch with the cats on my lap whenever I try to do any blogreading, photo editing, answering emails, (pick any of a thousand other things I need to get done).

But that’s the way it is in the winter months I guess.

6 thoughts on “breaking it in

  1. lauren

    i love it – you have a vintage machine! me too! i inherited one from my grandmother but i’ve been too afraid to try it. is it hard to get used to or is that what you have always used?

    Like

    Reply
    1. tidytipsy

      I inherited mine from my grandmother as well! I LOVE this machine and have used it exclusively for about two years now. It’s from 1930 and it works beautifully still.
      I used a 1970’s (plastic) machine before that but it gave me lots of trouble and broke in the end. The old metal ones are still the best I think. The Phoenix did take some getting used to but now I couldn’t imagine sewing with anything else. I actually really enjoy treadling too🙂 I do miss a zig-zag stitch a lot though and I have a thrifted 1965 metal singer waiting around here to be cleaned and set up on my new sewing table, so I can use that for finishing the edges with zig-zags. In the meantime I just try to do as much french-seaming as possible.
      I couldn’t imagine sewing with a computerized machine (is that what the modern ones are called?) but then again I’ve never tried. I love knowing that the Phoenix is virtually unbreakable, that if something went wrong with it I could fix it myself with a bit of research. I did give it to a shop to do a general overhaul on it when I got it, because it hadn’t been used in decades and had tension issues.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

